Skip to content

Delete User - Google Admin Console ​

UX copy for deleting a user in Google Admin Console, including modal text and confirmation email.

Table of contents ​

Delete User UX Copy Modal ​

Title ​

Delete user

Before deleting this user consider transferring their data. Once deleted, the user can't access their account and any untransferred data will be deleted after 20 days. Learn more about deleting users

Review data transfer steps below. If you need more time you can first reset the user's password or suspend their account to prevent them from accessing their account. Learn about suspending accounts

Transfer user's data ​

Data in Gmail ​

  1. Migrate the user's existing email
  2. If you want to keep receiving future emails sent to this address, here are your options:

Data in Classroom ​

Make sure to transfer ownership of Google Classroom classes owned by this user using the Classroom API.
Doing so ensures that the class content remains available to your organization.
Learn more about transferring ownership of a class.

Data in other apps ​

  • Select the user you want to transfer {user_full_name}'s data to (for example, a manager)
  • Select data to transfer:

All data not transferred will be deleted, including YouTube data.
Learn about what's deleted

Once you delete this user their license will be removed.

CTA buttons ​

  • [CANCEL]
  • [DELETE USER]

Screenshot ​

delete-user-google

Confirmation modal ​

Title ​

Deleting user

Body ​

This user's data is being transferred. You'll get an email when that's complete, and the user is deleted.

When the transfer is still in progress, the user's account will be suspended to prevent them from accessing their account.

After the deletion you have 20 days to restore the account, after which all the data be permanently deleted. Learn more

Confirmation email ​

Subject line:
Your deletion of {user_full_name} from Google Workspace was successful

Body:
![Google Workspace] logo

Hello Admin,

Google Workspace recently processed a request from {admin_user_name} ({admin_user_email_address}) to delete {user_full_name} ({user_email_address}) and transfer their data to {admin_user_name} ({admin_user_email_address}).

The data transfer was successful and {user_full_name} ({user_email_address}) was deleted.

Sincerely,The Google Workspace Team

Footer:
Google Workspace © 2025 Google LLC 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043

You're receiving this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to your Google Workspace product or account.